About the Arizona Sports and Tourism Authority

Formed as a result of voter approval of Prop. 302 in November 2000, AZSTA is responsible for owning and operating State Farm Stadium; funding tourism promotion in Maricopa County; funding the construction and renovation of Cactus League spring training facilities; and funding Youth and Amateur Sports projects and programs. AZSTA has played a leadership role in the Valley's bids for mega sporting events. AZSTA collaborated with the Arizona Cardinals and the Arizona Super Bowl Host Committee on Arizona's successful bid for the 2023 Super Bowl, which will be the stadium's third in a 16-year span. With AZSTA providing strong leadership, Arizona was awarded its second NCAA Men's Final Four in 2024.


AZSTA Board of Directors

The AZSTA Board of Directors is comprised of nine citizens of Maricopa County who volunteer their time and accept no compensation or per diem.

The Board members are appointed to five-year terms by the Governor (5), the President of the Senate (2) and the Speaker of the House (2) and are eligible to serve two terms.

Board appointees are appointed to achieve a balanced representation of the Valley's regions as well as the Tourism Industry, Cactus League, Valley Hotel Industry and Youth Sports.

As of September 2023

Kim Sabow


Dr. Anikar Chhabra

Vice Chair

Rusty Kennedy


Debbie Johnson

Scarlett Spring

Teddy Eynon

Jack R. Selby

Amilyn Pierce

Tom Sadler


BJ Morley

Chief Financial Officer

Heather J. Rayfield

Director, Executive Office Ops & Grants